The Divides

In my view, here in the U.S. what I will call “the divides” are laced together by one thread running through the very dna in the American psyche: winning. At core, we MUST win. If you’re on the left I just risked losing you.

Now hold on if your candidate lost… pause, take a breath because I simply don’t agree with about 3-4 major pieces of EITHER political party platform so regardless- I lose.

“But not like others” you might say. I agree. I am a white male in a white male dominant society where in my view, we should have seen Spanish added to the official language list in the States about 10 years ago -but in this I just lost you if you’re on the political right.

So, onto the divides:

White – non-white

Urban – rural

Job security – little or none

Legal jobs – illegal employment

But regardless, WINNING and indeed SURVIVAL is what each and all of us seem to be reaching for -and damning those who are or seem to be roadblocks to them.

Not much to understand about all the above if you think about it a bit.

But wait, there’s more.

Faith vs. fear

Anger vs. anger

Genuine invitations to “the table” vs. “We want nothing to do with you”

So, Americans, patriots, good-hearted citizens of the land of my birth and the land I love, it is at this point I call attention to:

The New Colossus

Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame,
With conquering limbs astride from land to land;
Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand
A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame
Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name
Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand
Glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command
The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame.

“Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!” cries she
With silent lips. “Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!” -Emma Lazarus

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_New_Colossus

Yes, this is the poem on the Statue of Liberty. Yes, things have indeed changed. Times have changed, economic changes, wars, white dominant culture erosion, rural jobs and towns drying up, the drug trade both legal and illegal kicking into ever-higher profit margins in BOTH tiny rural towns and urban areas, cultural changes happening that displace the majority which knows it is near-certain they (we… me) will soon be the minority and… and… -lose-.

And here I prophesy: there isn’t enough of anything that will stop that from happening folks.

I suppose that’s one of a host of reasons Jesus commanded (not merely invited) us to “love your neighbor as yourself”.

Things to consider as you go about daily life in a nation and world in deep, deep need of more love and grace -win or lose.

Want to reap what you sow? You will. So think long and hard when you judge others in that regard, because THEY might be irresponsible bums and YOU might be anything but living out the love of Christ in your attitude towards your neighbor. Which makes you very much alike and equally in line for God’s judgment.

I think love, grace, bigger ears and a heart that sees humans rather than “us” and “them” is the only practical solution.

But of course I’m a missionary idiot, what do I know? 🙂

As always, thanks for stopping by!

-Glenn

Leave a Reply

