The Journey Continues

Some of this may sound macabre, but trust me, you may find sense and even peace in the following.

No matter our present state, it will change. Every one of us will encounter a few things- being born (none of us remember that but it happened:), living (for however long) and dying.

Within a very short number of days this week my life has included/will include:

*playing guitar in a nephew’s wedding

*my wife doing fabulous from two hip replacements but both of us fighting/recovering from intense upper chest colds and cough (nearly an e.r. visit for her)

*one of our son-in-law’s Mom passed away

*a very close friend soon to pass into Jesus’ presence

*and I’m learning two new (to me) songs to play guitar in a wedding this coming weekend

Ahhh… call it “life’s journey” and one way or another we’re on it!

I am reminded how others (and myself pre-salvation in Jesus) dealt with the ups and downs… drugs, sex, alcohol, flooding my head with music to ease the pain, quitting and joining bands, swapping girlfriends, chopping hair off or growing it… you get the picture.

When the tensions and difficulties also mix with the joy and fun in living it’s wise to notice how you make choices, cope, medicate (or self-medicate) and so on.

This week again I’m reminded of several essential relationships that things like marriage, death, community and faith all put in rather stark and important perspective.

Few things matter, those that do REALLY matter. A personal relationship to Jesus (or none) make a difference as to how we navigate the journey. It is not in our ultimate control (never has nor will be) as to the way things happen in life, but oh how essential God’s love and genuine friendships in His love make all the difference as to our sense of peace, grace and well-being… or not.

So what follows here is here is part of this morning’s reading in my personal devotional time.

Come to think of it, this reminds me of a song 🙂

As always, thanks for stopping by!
-Glenn

Psalm 27 (NET)
13. Where would I be if I did not believe I would experience the Lord’s favor in the land of the living?
14. Rely on the Lord! Be strong and confident! Rely on the Lord!

Leave a Reply

