Recording Therapy :)

Most reading this have heard of music therapy, but have you tried experiencing it by process of recording song ideas?

While it’s true not all musicians are also song writers, writing via recording happens and you never know if you have the ability or at least aptitude unless you try.

When you realize there are a -lot- of freeware music programs available for nearly any computer operating system, tablet, phone and such, why not record your song ideas? If you never do anything but consider it an “audio sketchbook” of sorts and allow yourself the freedom and fun of learning whatever instrument(s), singing and vocal techniques, bass, drums, hand drums, uke, harmonica, cigarbox guitar, 1 string diddley bow, spoons, washtub bass, patting your hands on your knees and singing… well you get the picture -errr… sound, ‘eh?

You might really have fun and even encourage others as the result.

See, some people journal (as I just wrote recently) but others might find it as much of a healthy “journaling” experience to record. There are free (yep!) 4 track recording apps for Android devices, free Garage Band (or the like) multi-track recording programs for Mac, Windows and Linux. All you need is a good mic or two, a little time and some ideas to put down in audio form.

I’ve been doing this for years and some peeps actually like my ideas enough they’re often later recorded “for real” in pro studio form.

You really don’t know how a song will turn out until you try. I find creating songs nearly as much fun and satisfying as doing live shows, for me it’s one of the best parts about being a musician.

But you don’t have to spend hours doing it, nor seek to be the next “big deal” nor even to make a living from music. That’s not the point I’m trying to make here.

Think of recording a song as an audio snapshot, a sound-wave form of photography. When you have a bunch of ’em you have an album even if it just sits on your hard drive, or you burn a few cds or email a few mp3s to family or friends.

Lastly, I don’t think I progressed as a musician nearly as much as when I began to record my ideas, play them for others (even non-musicians who love music and gave me kind but honest critique) and so forth. In time I taught myself enough drums, bass, guitar, harmonica and the rest to actually get my ideas pretty well across in demo form.

After some years of this and with a lot of feedback from folks, I began to think I really did have a call on my life to make music, perform it, and even share some of those songs while leading worship.

Sound recording has never been easier for the average person than it is today with modern computing and apps.

Give it a shot )

And thanks for stopping by. -Glenn

Leave a Reply

