“33 Ways to Stay Creative”- Part 3

So here’s that list for reference again and my final thoughts on it.

25. It is not automatically selfish to do things that bring you happiness. I am an older, holiness and rather serious Christian who nevertheless is not stoic about life and creativity! I am in fact happy to be writing this blog even as I type 🙂 Yes.

26. See my comments for number 1, There have been days in the studio when I and others with me knew the inspiration just wasn’t happening. So we left and did other stuff, came back the next day and rocked! Yes.

27. Words can inspire and I use dictionaries and other word-sources often for broadening my own sense of thought in the English language. I purposely stay away from what I might call “university” or “theological seminary” speak… because “the common people heard Him (Jesus) gladly” and I would rather be heard and the point considered than impressive with my command of the vernacular… but you get the point:) Jazz drummers who play rock or blues with passion are often the best drummers imho. They have “chops” far beyond what they may use and that can indeed help them do amazing things as they jump to a fresh style.

28. Here (“framework”) is like saying “you’re used to using paper and pencil… try canvas and a brush and paint”. Or moving in closer, “Decide your subject boundaries, then work within them”. For me, solo, duo or 3 piece is a framework that forces me to think, write, play and sing differently than if I worked in a 9-piece band…. which I’ve also done but you understand my meaning. Again, it’s helpful to narrow your “frame” of reference and then begin to create with that in mind. Some boundaries are better than none most of the time.

29. Boy do we work to impress this or that person and condemn ourselves to hell on earth when we “miss” our target! Absolutely. We can stress ourselves right out of creativity trying to perform up to this or that person’s standard. In the early years of REZ Band I often had issues communicating with grace and kindness what it was I was trying to get us to do as a band for a particular song. Very young and foolish, I would often get impatient trying to verbalize a point so I’d simply ask for the person’s instrument and play it (as I play several instruments). As time went on I realized that what I needed to be was a great deal more flexible, not accepting just -anything- as good enough, but also allowing the other musicians to learn, grow,come into their own musical “voice” and to take my core idea and re-work it where they were more happy and at peace about it. Thus we became a band, not “GLENN KAISER and posse”. The reverse is driving yourself crazy to do it EXACTLY as another creative person demands you do it. Sometimes you can’t, sometimes your idea may actually be better… not always of course, but there must be some give-and-take and a willingness to be friends, not merely co-creators who grow farther apart and may even hate one another later! Neither of you were, are or ever shall be perfect on this planet!

30. As per my comments above re. number 2.

31. Yes, there are times clutter clutters one’s mind and creative juices right out to the netherworld due to mess, confusion and the distracting factors of these.

32. If there is only work and no fun, no happy, no pleasure in creative work you are likely going to find a great deal of life rather distressing. Yes. God and His mature peeps are not about being “fun cops”. Play. There is a very real measure of play in creativity. He wired us that way!

33. I found it interesting that the last point was “finish”. Get it?! And this right after “fun”! So the balance of fun and almost seeming to be irresponsible bangs up against the other side of the balance and what is sometimes a tension in life and certainly in creativity: finishing! In any creation there comes a Sabbath. A time to rest from your labor. And there is such a thing as procrastination on the one hand or the other extreme, namely obsessing over the perfecting of one’s work. There is a time to let the kid go, for her to walk (or be sort of pushed) out into the big world at which point they take on a life of their own. All creative work is eventually “cast on the waters” and will sink or swim both on its own merits or lack of them… or the judgment and personal assessment BROUGHT BY OTHERS to the creative work in question. In other words, like it or not, it’s not only your creativity but other’s views which may have nothing to do with what you’ve created… as they judge the quality and value or lack of it in your offering. I find this a truth no matter what area of art or creativity one wishes to consider. And there is really nothing you can do but finish and let it go! At best we have a 50 percent chance of folks loving or at least liking OR finding the work useful, engaging, maybe even brilliant. THEY bring the other 50 percent to your creative work.

If you’ve read this far you need thera… I mean, a medal, HA! Let’s create, let’s do all we do to the glory of God. It’s how He made us!

As always, thanks for stopping by. -Glenn

Leave a Reply

