Hobbies?

Being (no offense to my European friends) quite German in my thinking, most of my life I’ve been pretty exacting about what I wanted to do with any spare time… even about play.

Pre-Christian, I’d been so lawless and sinful in thoughts and actions that when I came to saving faith in Jesus I did what plenty of peeps do- especially with my background, social conditioning and dna- I got very tight about what I SHOULD do with leisure time. Not good of course, but as I say, from hard-core-lawless to “some things are spiritually uplifting and others take you down”.

So as I married a wonderful, balanced and sensible girl, she taught me to “stop and smell the roses”.

Hobbies are not in themselves sinful, at least for the most part! And we need to rest, God didn’t tell us to honor the Sabbath for nothing, rather for our own need of rest, reflection and focus on Him and I’d add, family. Work and nothing but work doesn’t only make one “a dull boy” but also in my view, stifles creativity.

Over the years I’ve found a number of very cool hobbies that help me dream, move me beyond the same-old, same-old everyday and have helped me “air out my head”, emotions and sense of expression.

Here is a basic list of my personal hobbies in no particular order. I spend very little or a lot of time playing in them. I find them welcome breaks, learning experiences and just plain fun ways to move beyond what might be mundane or overly stressful life.

Some may surprise you, maybe even as much as they surprised me as I tried and found them a personal pleasure 🙂

Dates- with my dear wife Wendi! Hey, just going to Aldi’s for a couple of things, sitting by the Lake and chatting while we munch, or a stroll through Home Depot or Menard’s is fun with my girl!

Soccer- the real football (used to play a lot, now pretty well just watch).

NFL and CFL football- (watching, not playing).

Flying kites- cheapo and fighter kites friends have given me.

Shooting, Hunting- from old muzzleloaders, modern black powder rifles, .31 derringer and years ago a .44 6 shooter, all these black powder/Pyrodex. Nice boom, lots of smoke. Others- .22’s, shotguns, air rifles, pistols, bb guns. Archery- 55 lb. longbows, recurves, Alpine Extreme fast, short modern bow with release aid. Eventually a crossbow when I finally get time to set it up. Hunting with all these that are legal for small and large game.

Fishing- not as much as I’d like… not a lot of time… but fly fishing as well as spincasting, cane pole and even bow fishing.

Linux Computing- by far my fave operating system though I indeed like Android (Linux tweaked is what that is by the way…).

Guitar-building- And by this I mean simple 1, 2, 3 string cigarbox or found-object builds. I purposely keep ’em simple and creative. Even the stuff I sell isn’t so much about money but the joy of creating these.

Junk-store, Garage ard Yard-sales- On a good day with 10 bucks Wendi and I have sure had fun and have gotten great deals for little.

Sitting quietly in Woods, Park or Garden- Indeed, this is a major tonic to me. Better still if there’s a creek or pond near.

Taking a walk- with my Wendi especially nice!

Studying History- I’ve always wanted to learn all I could about people groups, other nations, tribes, customs and culture so between other means such as travel, books and meeting people where I live (done all these a lot) with the internet and PBS, National G. mags and tv, etc., there is so much to learn.

So these are just a few of the ways I refresh and come away with new ideas for any number of projects.

I do a lot of giving thanks to God for and while doing each of these hobbies, in some cases pray a fair bit (about people, events and all sorts of things) while engaging in several of them.

So how about you? Do you take time to depressurize or is it all work and legal obligation? A guy who reallllly likes to get things done is asking 🙂 !

Something to think about.

Thanks for stopping by! -Glenn

One thought on “Hobbies?

  1. So as I married a wonderful, balanced and sensible girl, she taught me to “stop and smell the roses”.Dates- with my dear wife Wendi! Hey, just going to Aldi’s for a couple of things, sitting by the Lake and chatting while we munch, or a stroll through Home Depot or Menard’s is fun with my girl!Junk-store, Garage ard Yard-sales- On a good day with 10 bucks Wendi and I have sure had fun and have gotten great deals for little.Taking a walk- with my Wendi especially nice! Glenn , my hobby is my wife too 🙂

Leave a Reply

