Dumpster Time!

Been thinking about Spring cleaning… even though it’s Summer in the U.S.!

This summer has been a great time of (late, but better than never:) getting a load of stuff that my family and I have not used for years to bye-bye land 🙂

I spent most of this afternoon with one of my daughters cleaning out a storage room of several year’s worth of old stuff we’ve not used and won’t again… and wow, what SPACE to get current and needed stuff done!

In that we’re close to moving off of most of  the old Cornerstone Farm (sold), the same will be true out there.

I’ve a larger as well as a very small shed full of stuff, plenty of which will just be discarded as that’s what it’s good for,: nothing, really.

When a major change happens one must consider what’s truly important and what is just rubbish-heap-value or things get truly worse.

As in- the water table and a few of our local rain drains just aren’t doing the job these days in the inner-city, so a heavy rain means no sump pump in America can keep all the water out.

In that our storage room is in a place where perhaps 40 percent of it allows the water to seep in, you can imagine the occasional water-bug the size of Oklahoma as well as having to keep stuff up off the floor in whatever ways you can.

I recently decided to toss out an old bag which has been around the world with me for perhaps 15 years or more! Nice old roller bag… and I knew I’d left a few items in it when I’d last used it on a tour several months back.

I have several bags like this and often the little stuff is left in them when I come in the door… tired, just wanting to see my sweet wife and deal with the full unpack later. So my laundry and any clean clothes come out but a few guitar cables and such stay in until later.

The last flood we had I realized part of that bag was on the floor… yow… so it seeped up the water like a sponge! Yuck. But hey, no biggie, I was about to toss it anyhow -until I remembered I’d left a few items in there.

I have a little cheapo amplifier ($20 buck Honeytone) that thankfully wasn’t wet, but it was in there with a few other things I’d wondered about! Glad to have found ’em.

And out went the bag and several T shirts thick with mildew.

I think malice and racism, along with unforgiveness and slander, etc., are a lot like that rotting bag. A major difference is that unlike my old red and black travel bag, there has never been anything good in any of those things.

From plenty of sad, sometimes angry individuals I’ve known to the Trayvon Martin situation where fear and vigilantism sometimes sky-rocket, the fight for power goes on. Justice? That word is usually interpreted (by you and I) to mean “what -I- believe is just”.

I took out 3 large garbage cans today full of rubbish. The old storage area ain’t perfect but it’s a whole lot better than it was!

Need a little fellowship with a dumpster near you? You’ll feel better afterwards 🙂

Things to consider-. And thanks for stopping by! -Glenn

2 thoughts on “Dumpster Time!

  1. WOW Glen wouldn’t it be great if we could rid ourselves of all our old baggage so easily and never look back. I know that we can rid ourselves of it but the looking back is the hard part . Forgetting the pain you may have caused someone in your past. I believe that part of that stuff stays with us as to keep us from repeating the same ignorant mistakes.

    • I agree with your comments, thanks. The reality is that we all (as in “all”) need the mercy of Jesus to live and to find eternal life, much less to enjoy peace with ourselves, forgiveness as well as in order to forgive those who’ve wronged us. But the point is of course simple: keep short accounts or you have a long, sad road which you’ve actually constructed -for yourself!! -Glenn

Leave a Reply

