Beachball Concern

Had a great chat with a friend last night.

The meeting was for me to just share a bit of the burdens I carry, which I did, and hear a bit of encouraging feedback, really just consider various ways to enhance my walk with God. And all that happened too 🙂

I think for me, the revelation of the discussion was when he said “Carrying some of the difficulties you do is a bit like trying to keep a beachball under water”. Wow. Yes, truth, that.

It just keeps trying to pop up.

Trying to keep that puppy under won’t solve the pushback.

Later on in our conversation he said “Of course, some beachballs need to be held under” meaning that there is a right time and place and a right person or people to share your burdens and distress with as well as a wrong time, etc.. All very true. But suppressing the need never helps anybody.

And of course there are various times and seasons throughout our life on the planet.

We all move through moments of great mountain-top experiences and other moments of deep and dark valleys.

The grace of God is in part, that we are able to do it hand-in-hand (by faith) with Jesus and not alone, and with at least several other Christ-followers as well.. again, not -alone-.

I have been carried by so many loving, wise and prayerful people for so many years- and I’m well aware it’s their mercy, kindness and encouragement that has kept me floating… beachball and all.

How about you? What might you try in order to experience God’s grace in relationships and allowing Him and others to carry you and your stresses, fears and anxieties?

These are not automatically selfish concerns.  Perhaps you’d benefit by considering?

Thanks for stopping by! -Glenn

2 thoughts on “Beachball Concern

  1. I’d just have to TOTALLY echo that. I went through a period about twenty months ago where I completely lost my faith. In fact, it was a very dark period mainly for the reason that I didn’t tell anyone how bad it was. I’d kept going to Church with my parents and stuff simply to create the illusion that everything was still okay. Nobody at all knew anything was up. I wouldn’t even write in my diary because I was so scared of people finding out that I was suffering! After one miraculously failed suicide attempt (I still cannot work out why I am alive today), I found a new relationship with God, but it wasn’t until January this year that I actually told anyone about what had happened, and I immediately felt the physical effects of a weight coming off my shoulders. Really, knowing that there are people out there to talk to who care makes all the difference. If I ever get anywhere near that tormented again, which I really cannot foresee happening, I now know that there is a list of people as long as my arm who can pray for me and lend a hand.

    • Thanks so much Joe! Yes, not uncommon, the sort of issues you mention here. Thanks for being so candid about it all.

      Too many of course -choose- to “go it alone” which in the end is no solution and only rubs salt into the wound(s).

      Thanks, Amen! -Glenn

Leave a Reply

