Illness, Inspiration Update

This past week has been a bit of a pain, literally.

Then again, for me it’s been a time of inspiration.

By “pain”, not in terms of truly serious illness, but I can only recall one other time when I coughed as hard as I have this week. It’s just a bad cold and perhaps a touch of asthma, but I’m so glad to be being on the mend now… whew!

Illness once again reminds me how amazing my wife Wendi is.

She has rarely complained but faces continual pain day in and day out.

Over many years she lived with all sorts of allergies and rather intense asthma. She also for some years dealt with diabetes, having to inject insulin three times each day. God healed her of that, but great issues with arthritis are fairly constant.

Rarely have I heard her complain of these matters and I can tell you if it had been me I would have been quite vocal about it all!

God gave and continues to give she and I grace as we age and as we face medical issues, which of course are the norm as people get older.

For the many years of travel, lack of sleep and overall wear-and-tear I’m amazed how well we’ve held up… and that too is all God’s grace.

Lately she’s suspected I have developed asthma, so I’ll be checking into that. So far it’s not an issue with singing which I still do a lot of, so again, grace… I’m so thankful for His grace!!

And once again I find myself in various music studies, laments in particular, and also writing a great many songs on all sorts of topics and I believe really inspired.

Wendi and many other people I serve with as well as a great many others are the human sources of that inspiration.

It’s amazing what one can accomplish when inspired as opposed to not being so. Then again, even illness inspires blues and lyrics that have a potential of depth in an otherwise often shallow stream of words.

I do suspect we think deeper thoughts when struggles are near.

Been enjoying Bonhoeffer quotes a great deal as well… what an incredible man he was!

“In normal life we hardly realize how much more we receive than we give, and life cannot be rich without such gratitude. It is so easy to overestimate the importance of our own achievements compared with what we owe to the help of others.”

―Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Letters and Papers from Prison

Have a look here for some of his brilliant comments:
http://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/29333.Dietrich_Bonhoeffer

So that’s my update for now 🙂

Thanks very much for stopping by, -Glenn

2 thoughts on “Illness, Inspiration Update

  1. Reminds me of an old song…..”I walked a mile with Pleasure. She chattered all the way; leaving me none the wiser with all she had to say. I walked a mile with Sorrow. Never a word said she, but OH the things I learned from her, when Sorrow walked with me….” Barry Mcguire.

Leave a Reply

