A Couple Weeks in My Life

I’m often asked what an average week is like in my life. Well, no such
thing as average around here but…

Many know me as a musician, perhaps as a pastor or speaker, of course
I’m a husband, father, grampy and do various sorts of things.

So here’s the recent past, present and immediate future of what I’m up
to for those who wonder. And if you don’t, no worries, I really don’t
think I’m anybody special but I know and serve THE most Special (and
only) God… and care deeply about people Jesus is relentless about
reaching.

Last week I took turns driving a maxi van, trailer and large group of
our Project 12 students and staff to Florida (from our home in Chicago
at JPUSA).

Once there we set up camp in Ocala National Forest and served food,
prayer, listened to and shared with rainbow family people. You can
google them if you want to know what they’re about. I simply want to
say they, like all, need Jesus and a credible witness from authentic
Christ-followers.

After five days in the woods, a wonderful local pastor picked me up
early morning, I was blessed with a shower at his house, then we went
to Orlando airport where I caught a cheap flight to Chicago.

Happy to see my wife, kids and grandkids, and also to do my/our
laundry 🙂 I then rehearsed with GKB (3 piece blues/rock group) and
the next day Ed, Roy and I headed for Menomonie, Wisconsin to do a set
with the kind Blind Munchies folks. Sweet church, coffeehouse and a
really fun evening. I also did an interview for their radio station
and played an acoustic song for their YouTube channel series.

Hit the hotel, showered, slept, did a little rehearsing and email,
etc., then Ed headed home while Roy and I were picked up by some fine
friends who drove us up to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and the city of
Iron River.

He-brews is another great church and they are looking to go further
into Christian community. So after enjoying a great opening bro.
(wonderful acoustic finger-style guitarist and songwriter) I brought
an acoustic set (Roy did his usual fine job of mixing the sound) and
spoke the next morning as well as leading worship with Josh (pastor)
and Seth (wonderful worship leader and in leadership there also), we
all ate lunch and talked about some of the realities of close-quarters
Christian community living.

Our new friends then drove Roy and I back to Chicago (about 9 hours or
so) and it was sleep-time.

Today I showered, am writing this, will do an interview with
journalist working in France who is doing stories on Christian
communities in the U.S.. Then after some prep., I link up with others
on the Willow Creek Cook County Jail ministry team and help lead
worship as well as bring the message to the men in the “drug” division
at CCJ tonight.

Tomorrow I rise at 5:30 and head to JPUSA’s Lakefront Roofing Supply
to work in the metal shop. I’ll likely get home about an hour before
supper, take a nap, eat dinner with Wendi, then do laundry (including
that load I left bagged up in the trailer with P12 in Florida!).

Wednesday, GKB rehearses for Europe. Thursday I take my Wendi to her
doctor’s appointment, that evening I speak to JPUSA’s DM (Discipleship
Ministries) on the meaning of the Lord’s Supper.

Saturday- my daughter Ami’s band (The Unfortunate) and myself and a
couple others head to Green Bay for a show at Cup O’ Joy coffeehouse,
rise early and drive up to Sturgeon Bay Community Church in Door
County, lead worship and the pastor will interview me (in place of a
sermon) on what community-evangelism might best look like in our
present time.

Sunday night we’re home to family and JPUSA… GKB rehearses for
Europe on Monday, Tuesday we focus fully on our families, attending a
JPUSA community gathering, then packing for the GKB 3 week European
tour, Wednesday we fly overseas.

I’ll share as many meals and moments with my wife, kids and grandkids
as I can this week, I’ll sure enough miss them for those 3 weeks, so I
do thank God for the internet, Skype and such!!

Anyhow, that’s how things look for my rather passive, do-little life… HA!

Thanks for stopping by and for your prayers.

Oh, one more thing: I will post a full account and some of my personal
thoughts about our Project 12 mission trip with pics in the next few
days.

His, yours,

-Glenn

5 thoughts on “A Couple Weeks in My Life

  1. Thanks for sharing, Glenn.This is the abundant life, isn’t it? Eternity playing out right here and now.It was cool to read you’d been at the Rainbow Gathering, having just listened to an interview with Joshua Hanson (http://somethingbeautifulpodcast.com/podcast/joshua-hanson-4-36/) about outreach to that people group.I love how the Father weaves these strands together.Would’ve been great to hear you in Scotland on the tour, but I pray you enjoy the trip anyway!Grace & Peace,W

  2. Thanks much! I love people and these are people in need of ministry that too many don't even notice.<br><br>I also dearly love Scotland, have always loved touring there. I'd love to see you up there, as He wills and in His timing I may see your fair land again :)<br> <br>Thanks for writing, -Glenn

  3. It would be interesting to hear some of the interview you do with the pastor at Sturgeon Bay Community Church. If there is a podcast or transcript available could you post that? Community evangelism is the vision of our church for the next few years.

  4. Hi there, Glenn. I was happily surprised, reading you’ll come to Gouda, Holland, my hometown. Yeah that famous cheesetown! My only worry was, what if not enough tickets be sold? One of my gems in my collections is the tape "Into the Night" with Larry Howard & Darryl Mansfield and you of couse, I put it on immediately! It is pure music in the highest degree. Lovin’ every minute of it! I’ll do my best taking some people with me and look forward for a great night. By the way, Darryl was in Gouda too, somewhere in 2001?! Time’s too fast! God bless you & yours.

Leave a Reply

